Surgery Day Today

With my nasty headache, it’s easier to use pics than to write words …..

Rust Presbyterian Hospital, 7:30 am, 7.26.18; kinda stormy morning here on the west side. They took such good care of us.
My guy. Partner in just about everything since April, 1985.
Wendy – friend extraordinaire and a supremely brilliant Nasty Woman! She just appeared outta nowhere this morning to wait alongside Toby. No one has ever waited with Toby through any of my operations. This was, I believe, one of the most compassionate acts of kindest we’ve ever received. I wrote earlier about the importance of not being alone through all of this – well, he didn’t have to be alone today. Thank you, Wendy.ā¤

Pre- surgery….. waiting.
A little later…. more waiting. It was only about an hour and a half – filled with nurses, IVs, vitals, directions, bathroom trips with my ass hangin’ out and my saline bag along for the ride…… but it felt like hours.
See? Doesn’t it look like he feels it was hours?

No, this is not Jennifer Bishop MD, Fellowship trained breast surgeon. Duh. This is our sweet friend Dr. Jeff Brown who is also a surgeon at Rust. He was operating today (yay!) in OR 1 right next to me (and the earlier mentioned Dr. Bishop, and her team – including the lovely, compassionate nurses, Tracie and Chris, of course) in OR 2. It may be very silly – but knowing Jeff was there, doing surgeries, and so close by – made me feel better. Safer. We so adore Jeff – thanks for sharing him, Keri!!
Took my current book everywhere yesterday and today. Read about 2 paragraphs total – the same two paragraphs over and over!

Arrived home about 5:30 PM to these beauties. Thank you, Denise, Melanie, and our Blissful Spirits family. Wow!

Home by 5:30 pm. Yep…. surgery was about 75 minutes starting at 9:30 am. The rest of the time was me trying to wake up. Trying to keep my head from exploding off my body – although, that very well could have eliminated my severe headache pain. Trying not to pass out or vomit. Which – by the way – I did neither of this time!! Woo! Hoo!! Still have the headache – ugh – but no vomiting or fainting!
Scotty – lap cuddler professional. Doing double duty by lovin’ on me (very clean, by the way!) and hiding from the massive lightning storm!
What the hell? Where’d the pimple come from? I wake up and there’s a pimple.
And, where in the hell did it go? Weird. Wake up again, 45 minutes later and it’s gone??!
Gracie – rabies, etc. updated but not spa-day clean, yet. I’d love to say she was lovin’ on me but in all reality she was freaking out about the storm. Really freaking out – poor girl. Had to move her to the dark, small bathroom downstairs in an effort to help her relax …. and to most definitely help my exploding head.

Amy, friend of 15 years and exceptionally gifted educator colleague, brought food tonight for Toby. The toast was the BEST!! I’ve never eaten – never – on the day/evening of surgery, cannot ever tolerate anything …….. but the toast was perfect!! I ate two pieces. Score!
Bedtime. Soft, comfy, easy-on-and-off pajama top – thanks Target and Toby. And, check out my cool 70’s style tube top holding everything together! I had several of these in the 70’s….. short, midriff, long top, dress. Hahaha… look at me – I’m vintage!
Blue pee!! Even matches the Kleenex box!! (Don’t tell Toby I posted that….. šŸ˜œ)

G’nite. Thank you all for holding me safely in your hearts today. ā¤šŸ’œ

Leave a comment